top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStacy Hixon, MA, Licensed Professional Counselor

New Year - New Meh!


The majority of years I am excited about the new year beginning. This year - not so much. After spending the last 10 months in isolation because I'm high risk for covid, I'm meh about the new year. The one thing I am looking forward to this year though, is getting the vaccine. While I do love being at home and working from home, I am ready to be able to enjoy hosting gatherings at our home, going out to eat, going shopping, traveling, etc.


2020 was a rough year for everyone. I don't think there is one person whom I know that was unaffected. Whether it was mental health, physical health, financial, or otherwise, this year has been really tough!


My husband lost three coworkers to the virus, we know several other people who lost their lives to it as well. My mother spent 6 weeks or so in the hospital fighting the virus. We've had other friends and acquaintances who have also suffered fighting it. We've had friends who have lost their jobs, had to work extended overtime hours because of demands or to make ends meet, friends who have suffered great mental health issues because of the pandemic. It's been a challenge to say the least.


I want to reassure you though, that you're doing your best. We've never lived through a pandemic before, so we're kind of new to this experience. It's okay if you've struggled a lot or a little. It's okay if you've cried, spent days in bed, slept for too long, laid around too much, ate too much, or have been stuck. You're doing your best. Some days our best is 100% and some days our best is 1%, but that doesn't diminish that your best is your best for that day. It's okay.


Be kind to yourself, love yourself, and give yourself grace.

 

I am a live and let live person, so let us let each other live in peace, please - no arguing about the vaccine, the virus, or politics either way. - Stacy Hixon

 

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page